Silver Linings – Day 3.

“Colouring Book Quote”

My dear friend Helen sent me this quote. It is from a colouring book that I was working in the other weekend. I didn’t realise it was there on the reverse side of the page I was colouring, until she must have noticed it and sent the photo through today.

It was very timely arrival. I realised I have been very hard on myself lately about my own weaknesses and vulnerabilities. This quote reminded me today, that from an awareness of these personal aspects, I can gain strength. And that hopeful suggestion has been gratefully received.

You can see below an image on the left of the Aardvark picture that is partially coloured by me (to be completed another day). And on the right is an early picture of the colouring table. Note the wine glasses already empty, the various colouring pens & pencils, and a few other pages being worked on.

Another silver lining for today. While waiting at the ticket machine to pay for car parking at the fresh produce markets tonight, I heard a little voice singing a jolly tune. I turned around with a smile to see a mother watching her daughter dance around and singing a bouncy little song of nonsense words that was already embedding itself in my head.

I commented to them how delightful it sounded and that I’d probably be singing it to myself all the way home. The young girl was quite shy about this attention from a stranger, but I hope my kind words were taken in a positive way by her.

That’s why I love playing with my nieces and nephews. The joy and fun of silliness or whatever springs up in your mind during play. It reminds me that no matter what else is going on on your life, there is always space for play.

One thought on “Silver Linings – Day 3.

What do you think?

