Our Space, Not My Place. (reblog)

Of Love and Loss

I spent so long trying
to be someone that you liked
that I lost track of myself.
Trying to please you when
you didn’t know what you wanted
trying to make you happy when
you just needed to be how you were.
Not understanding you
and thinking that meant
you didn’t care about me.
Trying to get you to conform
to what I thought was best for us.
Trying to change you
when rightly or wrongly
I thought it was needed.
Now I know that’s not my place.
I gave you space
no pressure
no presumption
And nothing changed.
I can change myself
but no one else.
Eventually I realised
it’s just the space
that we create
Together, this is what we are.
I’m in the wrong space
This is not my place.

View original post

What do you think?

