Emotional Mindfulness.

In response to a thought
Certain feelings kept returning
They felt like hurt and pain
So, I pushed them away
To focus on brighter, lighter energy.

But I remembered a friend’s words
“One emotion at a time,
feel it, explore it, face it,
own it, conquer it.”

So, I stopped being frightened
These feelings became observable
And their power lessened
I took back a certain control
To let myself think and feel
With a renewed free-ness.

(12 February 2015)

[ Thanks to eledette for the wisest words to me this week ]

2 thoughts on “Emotional Mindfulness.

    • They were words/advice I have heard before (repetition eventually gets through to me) but from you the timing was just right. And it has freed me so much this week, letting my energy return.

      I know we struggle to take our own advice, but it must be shared with others to be effective, just as it was for me. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

