Needing Understanding.

frequently I am too distraught
to speak about other
than the pain and sorrow I feel
how communicating
with those close to me
leaves them unsure about response
and unable to express understanding

social situations
become awkward through
the need to cover up
this aspect of myself
because it just feels
even more uncomfortable
and painful
when they also don’t understand
and my isolation grows

please understand
I fight this
because I don’t want this
to define me

perhaps
it is only those
experiencing their own pain
who can understand me
I am drawn in through their eyes
and while no words are spoken
I feel connection

and the poets
who understand words
who can respond
with meaning
sometimes with a clarity
that pierces my shrouds
for you I give thanks

(17 Sept 2014)

2 thoughts on “Needing Understanding.

What do you think?

