Locked Away – Part 1.

This prison cell is too comfortable
There is an inviting mattress with soft sheets
a mouldable fluffy pillow full of feathers
and a woollen quilt with an extra blanket on top.
The stone walls around me, made up of negativity
are silent today
The only sounds I perceive
the blood pumping through my ears
and the ever-present tuned white noise of my tinnitus
Am I breathing? I don’t really know.
I glimpsed some positivity
as it wafted in on a faint breeze, through the barred window
and then continued out on its way.
I don’t want to leave here
In fact I don’t want to do anything.

2 thoughts on “Locked Away – Part 1.

  1. Peter my dear, I’ve ‘liked’ this because I relate to it strongly. I wish I was closer and could sit and read poetry to you, or sit in silence, listening to whatever music meets your needs. I’ll write more on part 2. xxx

    Like

What do you think?

