“Don’t think, Don’t worry, Everything’s just fine”…

I couldn’t leave this alone, haunting me even as I read it. So I am embracing these words rather than running from them.

Eye Will Not Cry

numb-2-blood-man

~

He doesn’t know what…
What you want him to say…

Doesn’t even know…
How he is feeling today…

He doesn’t even know…
What or how to feel…

Yet you ask him to talk…
Ask him to reveal…

You ask him what…
What it is he is thinking…

But his mind is numb…
And his heart is sinking…

All of his life…
He’s kept his emotions at bay…

Don’t you see how easy it is…
Just to lock them away…

If he let them loose…
He would be terrified…

So he keeps them near…
It’s how he’s survived…

It doesn’t mean…
That he’s not keeping you close…

You are the person…
He is needing the most…

Sometimes he needs to be alone…
Open your eyes and see…

Somedays it’s not you…
It’s simply all he can be…

And he has to get through this…
But be true to himself…

So…

View original post 92 more words

2 thoughts on ““Don’t think, Don’t worry, Everything’s just fine”…

  1. I’ve commented on the other blog, but this poem is so moving I feel compelled to comment here too. This is the most powerful of all your poems, in my humble opinion.

    I’m a firm believer that it’s in silence and solitude we grow. There’s a time for loving and sharing, there’s a time for silent contemplation, and then there’s a part of us that is ours alone. The hard part is working out what is the right balance for us. It took me a long time to understand that my darling husband’s silences were not about me, they were about him. This poem evokes so many memories and feelings for me.

    I love this poem, Peter. It’s one I’ll return to often.
    Tricia x

    Like

    • I’m glad this has strong meaning for you Tricia, as it did for me also. While I can’t take credit for writing the words, that goes to another, I have shared them on my blog as they are as significant to me as my own writing.

      I will consider your thoughts on silence and solitude. That is something that I am relatively unfamiliar with, and would benefit from understanding more.

      Like

What do you think?

