Dear Teenage Me.

Dear teenage me
Take it easy
Life can get heavy
But it’s never as scary
as you think

What others think
Doesn’t matter
Be prepared
For uncertainty
By feeling the fear
and doing it anyway

Time spent with friends
and family
make the best memories
so prioritise your life
around those that matter

You matter
Though you feel small
you will stand tall
with pride one day
for doing it your way

Find your way
find what you want to do
by trying everything
that catches your attention

Your attention focus matters
Keep it on the positive
and strengthen your optimism

Creativity and optimism
are more important than realism
But all three
work together synchronistically
So listen to me
for a quarter century
from now, you will be
Awesome!

.

[my response to the first daily poetry prompt by Pooky “Dear Me…”. Now that NaPoWriMo is over feel free to follow and join in as often as you like.]

10 thoughts on “Dear Teenage Me.

    • Thanks for the feedback Chantelle. In hindsight, the letters are nice, but usually for me the writing process is less pleasant, well that’s how it feels at the moment.

      Like

  1. Thanks for joining in. I love your take on the prompt – it’s surprising how many people who have written to their teenage selves in such enthusiastic terms even when, truth be told, life doesn’t feel perfect every day now…. Perhaps we need to listen a little harder to our own advice!

    Like

  2. This gives me a great start on a piece! Teenage years were when my actual grown up life started. I especially like this
    “Though you feel small
    you will stand tall
    with pride one day
    for doing it your way” – may I quote you? I like to put words on backgrounds that I make. -by wbdeejay you want it to say? If you allow. Just let me know how you want to be quoted if you don’t mind. Thanks. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hey Kari, I’m glad you shared your connection with these words. Feel free to build on these words in your own way. If you wish to quote me “by wbdeejay” is fine, and if you add a link to my blog (a hyperlink on my name would work) that would be much appreciated. Maybe post another comment here with a link to it when your “piece” is finished πŸ˜€

      Like

      • Sure, though I don’t know how to do the hyperlink in the editing program I use to make my backgrounds. But I just meant, you gave me the idea for a piece on “to my teenage self.” Not that I’d copy any of your words, other than what I mentioned as a quote for that, and that’s a different project. πŸ™‚ I’ll happily show you when I’m done. Hope things are well for you.

        Like

What do you think?

