Past and Future Travels.

No particular date significance today, just my occasional self assessment piqued by reading what others write. Today I read about Louise’s progress and got to thinking about myself and where I’ve been recently:
“Recovery takes time. I am glad to see the pain of the last year behind me, but through it I have learnt a lot about myself that I would not have otherwise – what I need, what I can do, and what I must be careful of.”

It is good to look back and see progress and so much more. It is much easier to do so when you are in a positive frame of mind.
“Why is that?” I hear you ask.

Well, I am halfway through being home alone for 10 days and it has let my stress and anxiety levels drop and given my thoughts and emotions space to breathe. Space to breathe. I knew it was necessary but had just not found the way to make that space. Now I am experiencing the benefit. And there is more time-out to come…

But back to now. I had a great catchup and chat with a friend last week (see my poem) and then a great weekend of playing board games with friends on International TableTop Day and being productive around the house outside in the sun.

And next there’s this thing that I’m looking forward to. A two week visit to my little sister in London. It’s a serious undertaking to be travelling for around 30 hours to get from one continent & hemisphere to the other. Nonetheless I will be arriving in the morning of 15th May and leaving in the evening of the 28th. No firm plans yet other than a Nigel Kennedy concert on the first Saturday night and lunch in the shard on Sunday. Planning on heading North for a visit to Scotland in there somewhere.

Now, it’s about you! If you live in the UK (or willing to cross paths there) I’d love to catch up with my fellow writers. I know a few of you reside in that part of the world and a few of you I have no idea where you are based. Plans are already afoot to catch up with one poet/writer in London, so if you would like to meet me, I would be delighted to meet you. Whether over your favourite beverage or a meal or checking out a museum – I’m open to options.

In any event, please send me your suggestions for things to see and do.
And don’t feel left out my friends in the American continent. I will get there one day too, I promise!.

You may email me directly (see my about page for contact form or just email wbdeejay [at] gmail dot com) or just comment here if you have suggestions. Your turn…

20140408-124121.jpg

4 thoughts on “Past and Future Travels.

  1. Make sure you spend some time just chilling out on the Thames sure. There’s a brilliant little beach next to the Tower Bridge that can be accessed through a walkway of the building to its right. The lapping of that old majestic river where so many people have come and gone before you, plus all the little treasures of history at your feet is so inspiring.

    Safe travels!

    Like

    • I always make an effort to share where my inspiration comes from, as without those people I wouldn’t be where I am now. Are you tucked in under Wales then? I did make it to Bath and Wales a few years ago. Have always enjoyed my time over there. This will be the third UK visit within 14 years for me.

      Like

What do you think?

