Good Stress

I just listened to a great Ted talk during my lunch break and it is worthy of sharing with you all:

Here is the talk by Kelly, recommended viewing:
http://www.ted.com/talks/kelly_mcgonigal_how_to_make_stress_your_friend.html

Here is a blog summary version:
http://blog.ted.com/2013/09/04/could-stress-be-good-for-you-recent-research-that-suggests-it-has-benefits/

And I will share with you my key points, consider these and make adjustments to your own beliefs:

Stress may only be bad for you, if you believe that to be the case.
See stress as your body rising to the challenge and equipping you to cope.

Chasing meaning is better for your health than trying to avoid discomfort.
(Go after what ever it is that creates meaning in your life, and then trust yourself to handle the stress that follows.)

3 thoughts on “Good Stress

  1. I haven’t listened to it yet, but when I was in college 20-some years ago, I realized that if I was feeling stressed and added just one more thing to my plate it would almost always calm me down some. About the time I figured this out, I came across this term – eustress. It basically means responding to stress in a positive way and knowing that the right amount of stress will actually make you feel better because you’ll feel more fulfilled. I completely believe in this!

    Like

    • I know what you mean Randee. Although I must admit when those times come for me I usually just throw my hands up in the air and drop the plate. Then I look around at everything and then down to the floor, bend down and start picking up the things that are the most important and can be dealt with firstly. Sort of a (Just F*it!) kinda way of reorganizing and prioritizing. Time seems to slow down and things eventually get accomplished as best as can due to whatever circumstances are at hand. But I wholeheartedly agree, sometimes one needs that extra bit to put it all in perspective.

      Like

      • I remember being so stressed in graduate school – 20 credit hours, teaching half time, spending several hours each day commuting, taking care of the household, and dealing with it by – what? – seeking out a part-time research assistant position and taking that on. It helped though. So weird.

        Like

What do you think?

