The Stalker

Cold hands of chill clutch at my shoulders

so lightly, yet firmly
unshakeable
Forgetting they are there
I push forwards
on with life
And wonder at my limited progress

A chain around my heart
cold and heavy
invisible
restricts breathing
prevents loving
Linked back to the pain of past hurts

Goes by the name “Depression”
or “Misery” to his friends
Cold, dark, silence
Just some of the tools of his trade

He is unwelcome
Yet selfishly,
I keep him all to myself
Even a cold grip
from my old friend
can be comforting

-=~=-

[ credit for the following line “Goes by the name Depression or Misery to his friends” and the spark that ignited this goes to Ashley Nicole’s piece The Face of Depression. ]

10 thoughts on “The Stalker

  1. Love this! Your choice of words provided great imagery and I found myself connecting to the entirety of the poem – especially the last few lines. Great job!

    Like

    • Thanks for your kind feedback, I appreciate it. Yes the last few lines, so familiar that they wrote themselves without my noticing – I remember writing every line except for the entire last stanza.

      Like

  2. Sorry that this is where life is taking you today – I am amazed that as the darkness takes hold you are able to express this sentiment so eloquently, so perfectly…. I hope that tomorrow is a better day though. Sending hugs x

    Like

    • Thanks for your kind words Pooky. Actually this poem was a response to another I read but lost track of where (to give credit). Was not completely chained down when this was written but the familiarity and memory is an amazing thing!

      On Tue, Nov 19, 2013 at 7:15 AM, 42 Days Younger than Kylie

      Like

        • 🙂 oh I have a load of memories to mull over if I so choose, but generally find it best not to. 

          This piece was another that I was not particularly satisfied with, until I read it a day later and decided it was worth pressing. On Sunday I struggled to put it together, and I don’t even remember writing the last stanza, So I was surprised when re-reading it Monday night. 

          Now, in balance, I can see the truth in the words and understand it’s strengths. Thanks for your positive feedback 😉

          On Tue, Nov 19, 2013 at 8:06 AM, 42 Days Younger than Kylie

          Like

        • Oh I think it’s fabulous. No doubt about it. However, I can imagine that writing it would bring those feelings to the surface, leading in the self-doubt and sense of failure… however, a day later, feelings receded, you could begin to appreciate it a bit more? Just my theory.

          Like

What do you think?

