Genetic mirror

Holding a hand
that looks so the same
In structure, shape
and form as mine.
The curve of the face,
nose and eyes
For such a resemblance
there is no surprise.
Head rests on pillows
And white sheets below
Trying to sleep
While the body says no.
Unsettled and tense
Arm jerks, leg jumps
That in-between state
Where confusion dumps.

Left handed
Dominant Right
Same mannerisms
Frame now slight.
My own motivations
Become clearer
For there, opposite me
Is my Genetic Mirror.

-=~=-
drafted 27 October 2013 12:48am
A follow on piece to my previous hospital post https://avulnerablespace.wordpress.com/2013/10/16/so-thin/

6 thoughts on “Genetic mirror

  1. This was realised one day while holding his hand watching him try to sleep. So many things I am/experience are genetically linked to my Dad. It was like watching myself lying there.
    I do appreciate your feedback.
    Peter

    Like

What do you think?

