When the world seemed against me

I moved through the pain.
When I thought the world
would collapse all about me,
It didn’t.
And all that came of it
Was my experience
And what I chose to feel
And remember.

I kept reminding myself
be present
Forget the past
Ignore an unknown future
This shall pass
This has no control over me

Now something’s happening
Shifting
subtly and significantly
My reactions are dropping
replaced by understanding
Calmer feelings
Considered responses

The verbal anger
Presents itself to me
as I stand amidst
the buffeting winds of emotion
Swaying but calm inside.
Whispering the storm
Calming and soothing
Steering it to a quiet rest
A change of tone
A smile

2 thoughts on “When the world seemed against me

  1. I really enjoyed reading this. A few months back, I found myself pessimistic, often times focusing on negative emotions to the point where I was driving myself crazy. Then, inexplicably, I shifted my emotions, and started focusing on positive thoughts. It was subtle at first, but after a few weeks of optimism, I had really changed my whole outlook on life, love and everything in between and it sure felt good.

    Great post…keep it up!

    Like

What do you think?

